The Bachelor of Science is a three-year programme comprising twenty-four courses; of which eight courses are at 100-level, eight courses at 200-level, and eight courses at 300-level. The disciplines permitted as a major or minor for the Bachelor of Science degree in 2017 are:

Bachelor in Biology

The Division of Biology provides biology courses for undergraduate and postgraduate study programmes within the Faculty of Science and Technology. The courses provided by the division strike a balance between traditional studies in biology and modern advances in biological research at levels ranging from molecules to communities.


The University of the South Pacific is ideally situated to offer high quality degree-level courses. In particular, it provides a perfect opportunity for in-depth, first-hand studies of two of the most diverse, yet contrasting ecosystems in the world – tropical rainforests and coral reefs (both can be visited from the Laucala campus on the same day). Several of our advanced courses emphasize the ecology and conservation of these systems, which are important throughout the South Pacific region.

The discipline has research facilities and expertise in several areas, including biodiversity and conservation, tissue culture, microbiology, animal and plant physiology and molecular systematics. We also have a range of field equipment and relevant expertise. We are perfectly placed for field studies in tropical terrestrial, freshwater, and marine ecosystems.

Program taught in:
  • English

See 20 more programs offered by University of the South Pacific USP »

This course is Campus based
Start Date
Feb 2020
Sep 2020
3 years
By locations
By date
Start Date
Feb 2020, Sep 2020
End Date
Application deadline

Feb 2020, Sep 2020

Application deadline
End Date